Service Interruption | Interlibrary Loan, WorldCat, UBorrow | Saturday, June 16, Noon-8pm

OCLC (vendor) will be doing maintenance on all their data centers on Saturday, June 16, from Noon-8pm.

Interlibrary Loan, UBorrow, and WorldCat may be unavailable or not work as expected at this time.  If you are having difficulty placing requests, please try later.

 

May Shorter Hours Begin Saturday, May 12 @Hardin Library

Shorter hours begin Saturday, May 12 at the Hardin Library.

Saturday, May 12 10am-2pm
Sunday, May 13 Noon-4pm
Monday, May 14-Thursday, May 17 7:30am-9pm
Friday, May 18 7:30am-6pm
Saturday, May 19 10am-2pm
Sunday, May 20 Noon-4pm
Monday, May 21-Thursday, May 24 7:30am-9pm
Friday, May 25 7:30am-6pm
Saturday, May 26 10am-2pm
Sunday, May 27 Noon-4pm
Monday, May 28 Closed for Memorial Day Holiday
Tuesday, May 29-Thursday, May 31 7:30am-9pm
Spring, May 9th, 2018

Longer list of hours

The 24-hour study is available when the library is closed.  Apply for access to the study at the 3rd Floor Service Desk.

Spring Break hours begin Friday, March 9

The Hardin Library will have reduced hours for Spring Break, beginning on Friday, March 9.

Friday, March 9 7:30am-6pm
Saturday, March 10 10am-2pm
Sunday, March 11 Noon-4pm
Monday, March 12-Friday, March 16 7:30am-6pm
Saturday, March 17 10am-2pm
Sunday, March 18 Noon-Midnight *regular hours resume*
24-hour study available when the library is closed.
Apply for access at the desk.

 

image of waves hitting cliffs
Pacific cliffs by 12010 at Pixabay.com
diamond open refine logo on blue background

Researchers: Clean Up Your Messy Datasets! | OpenRefine | Workshop Wed. Feb. 28, 11am-12pm

OpenRefine (formerly known as Google Refine) is a free tool for working with messy tabular data.  Save yourself time working with datasets that need to be transformed, cleaned, or processed before use.  Bring your laptop for hands-on training.  You may also follow along without a laptop.

Prior to the workshop, please install the Release Version of OpenRefine on your laptop:
https://github.com/OpenRefine/OpenRefine/wiki/Installation-Instructions

Our session:
Wednesday, Feb. 28, 11am-12pm (Information Commons East, 2nd Floor, HLHS)

Register online or by calling 319-335-9151.

Need a personal session or one for your team?  Contact Brian Westra by email or phone 319-467-0069.

image with information from blog post

picture of George Washington, seated, with paper in his hand and a ship in the background

Hardin Library open regular hours for President’s Day holiday Monday, Feb. 19

The Hardin Library will be open regular hours 7:30am-Midnight on President’s Day.  This year President’s Day is celebrated on February 19.

picture of George Washington, seated, with paper in his hand and a ship in the background
Painting of George Washington by Gilbert Stuart, dated 1797

Presidents Day always falls on the third Monday in February.  The holiday was originally called “Washington’s Birthday” to celebrate the first president of the United States, George Washington.  The holiday was celebrated throughout the USA beginning in 1885.