Nominations accepted for Jean Y. Jew Womens Rights Award

The Women’s Resource & Action Center and the Council on the Status of Women are accepting nominations for the 2009 Jean Y. Jew Women’s Rights Award.  The award, given annually by the Council on the Status of Women and the Women’s Resource and Action Center, honors a faculty, staff, or student member of the University community who has demonstrated outstanding effort or achievement in improving the status of women at the University.  The award will be granted at the Annual Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women on April 1, 2009, at 3:30 pm in the Old Capital Museum.

Some of the previous Jean Y. Jew Women’s Rights Award Recipients include:
Susan Buckley, Pre-Vocational Training
Rusty Barceló, Office of the Provost
Nancy Hauserman, Management & Organizations
Clara Oleson, UI Labor Center
Yvonne “Bonnie” Slatton, Sport, Health, Leisure and Physical Studies
Christine H. B. Grant, Women’s Athletics            
Susan R. Johnson, College of Medicine
Jean Martin, Motor Vehicle Maintenance Service  
Susan Beckett, Engineering Computer Network
Pat Cain, College of Law
Chris Brus, WISE

Candidates should have a strong record of support for women’s rights in a broad sense, a commitment to women’s rights at The University of Iowa, and one or more of the following related to women’s rights:
    * Particular contributions to The University of Iowa
    *  Long-standing record of leadership, effort, and activism.
    * Accomplishments with national scope or impact 
Information about the award and the nomation form is available online at .