Hardin Deputy Director Lawrence wins MLA Beatty Volunteer Service Award

Janna Lawrence, Deputy Director of Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, was awarded the 2014 Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Medical Library Association (MLA)  Volunteer Service award on May 20 at the MLA Annual Conference in Chicago.

The award was established in 2007 to recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding, sustained service to the Medical Library Association and the health sciences library profession.

The nominee must be an “unsung hero” of MLA and have not served in an elected national leadership position or received a national MLA award prior to or at the time of the nomination. The award is named in honor of Virginia L. and William K. Beatty and recognizes their significant contributions to MLA and the profession as longtime volunteers to the association.


Virginia L. Beatty and Janna Lawrence