Simulation Center Advisory Group Co-Chair wins UI teaching award

Four University of Iowa professors were chosen as winners of the 2009 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence.  The award was given to George Bergus, Kenneth Brown, Randall Bezanson, and Kathleen Kamerick.  The recipients were recognized for their years of outstanding teaching.  The award was given by the UI Council on Teaching.

Bergus, a Simulation Center Advisory Group Co-Chair, also holds the Dr. William and Sondra Myers Family Professorship, and has taught in the Department of Family Medicine at the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine since 1990.  He has also been named “teacher of the year” four times by his peers, and in 2008 he received the Collegiate Teaching Award. 

Brown is an associate professor of management and organizations in the Henry B. Tippie College of Business.

Bezanson is the David H. Vernon Professor of Law in the UI College of Law.

Kamerick has taught in the Department of History in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences since 1996.

Dr. Bergus co-chairs the Hardin Library Simulation Center Advisory Group.